Payroll software for small business: published prices

What payroll services charge, in their own words. 8 publish a price, and 3 quote on request. Most charge a monthly base fee plus a fee per person paid.

ProviderEntry plan, published price5 employees / month
Gusto$49/mo + $6/person
Simple
$79
RipplingQuote only
—
OnPay$49/mo + $6/person
Payroll Essentials (base plan)
$79
Square Payroll$35/mo + $6/person
Full-service payroll
$65
Homebase (Payroll)$49/mo + $6/person
Payroll add-on (any plan)
$79
Wave Payroll$40/mo + $6/person
Payroll (US)
$70
SurePayroll$29/mo + $7/person
Small Business
$64
Justworks (Payroll and PEO)$50/mo + $8/person
Payroll
$90
ADP RUNQuote only
—
Paychex FlexQuote only
—
QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce)$50/mo + $7/person
Workforce Payroll (payroll only)
$85
Patriot Software (Payroll)Not stated
—

Guides

How we compare

Prices and features come from each vendor's own pricing and help pages, read on October 8, 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's public pages don't say. We haven't counted features we couldn't confirm. We don't accept payment for rankings; some links earn us a commission (see the disclosure above). Vendors change prices often, so check the vendor's page before you buy.