Payroll for restaurants and tipped staff

Restaurant payroll has to track tips, apply the tip credit correctly and top up wages when tips fall short. These providers publish specific tip features.

ProviderEntry plan, published price15 employees / monthTip features (vendor's words)
OnPay$49/mo + $6/person
Payroll Essentials (base plan)
$139Help center: OnPay prepares Form 8846 (credit for employer SS/Medicare on tips) "filled out and ready to go" for food & beverage employers. Tip credit / cash-tip entry: not stated on pages checked.
Square Payroll$35/mo + $6/person
Full-service payroll
$125"Direct-tip tracking and importing" (full-service only); labor-cost reports include tips.
Homebase (Payroll)$49/mo + $6/person
Payroll add-on (any plan)
$139Tip Manager add-on $25/month per location: "automatically pulls tips from your POS, calculates the tip pool, and adds it to timesheets."
Paychex FlexQuote only
—Employee pay options include "tip disbursement for tipped employees". Tip credit / tip reporting: not stated.

Check your state's rules first: tipped minimum wage by state, with a tip-credit calculator on every state page.

How we compare

Prices and features come from each vendor's own pricing and help pages, read on October 8, 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor's public pages don't say. We haven't counted features we couldn't confirm. We don't accept payment for rankings; some links earn us a commission (see the disclosure above). Vendors change prices often, so check the vendor's page before you buy.